Home Page | Newest Releases
More music from
Share on Facebook
Search for music
Need Help?

cd cover Le Grand Kallé
His Life His Music
Joseph Kabasele and The Creation of Congolese Music
cdRoots Code: st-3058

An epic collection by one of the seminal forces in modern African popular music, compiled, annotated with a 100+ page book written by Ken Braun (in English and French) traces the life and times of Le Grand Kallé. This is an indispensible collection for anyone who wants to hear the music presented in a beautiful package and relive the glory days of Congolese music.


More info:
Press release from the label:
Joseph 'Le Grand Kallé' Kabasele lies at the very centre of the great mosaic that is African popular music, and in times that surrounded Congo's independence in 1960, Kallé and his band, which included musicians like Dr Nico, Manu Dibango and Tabu Ley Rochereau, was the most influencial in all of Africa.

This compilation brings together for the first time the breadth of Kallé's recording career spanning over 3 decades. Includes tracks taken from shellac and vinyl that have been unavailable for many years. Together with Kabasele’s most famous works, this double album features a 104-page book in both English and French revealing the man, his music and its context as never before.

Track# / Song nametime 
01 Valerine Regina 03:08
02 Kale Kato 02:56
03 Parafifi 02:55
04 African Jazz 02:54
05 Baila 02:35
06 Tujala Tshibemba 02:41
07 Mokonzi Ya Mboka 02:50
08 Tembe Nye 02:48
09 Table Ronde 03:00
10 Naweli Boboto 03:07
11 Independance Cha Cha 03:09
12 Jamais Kolonga 02:27
13 Africa Bola Ngombi 02:40
14 Matanga Ya Mobido 02:55
15 Kamulanga 02:34
16 Bana Na Nwa 02:49
17 Nabongisa Kala 02:50
18 Tika Ndeko Na Yo Te 02:47
19 Mama Ngai Habanera 02:57
20 Miwela-Miwela 04:03
21 African Jazz Mokili Mobimbo 05:05
22 Bolingo Suka Te 04:54
01 Mindule Mipanzana 02:42
02 Jolie Nana 05:01
03 Nzambe E Mungu 05:07
04 Makwela Ya Bana Mboka 03:23
05 Merengue Fontaine 02:23
06 Biwela-Biwela 03:18
07 Carrefour Addis Ababa 03:41
08 Butsana Mama 02:40
09 Lipopo Ya Banganga 03:59
10 Moselebende To Bolingo 05:10
11 Mbombo Ya Tshimbalanga 04:30
12 BB 69 06:02
13 Ko ko ko ... Qui est la? 03:27
14 Suzi Na Edo 04:04
15 Africa Boogaloo 03:42
16 Mokili Zala Ata Juste 05:16

Your orders are placed on a secure server, so your information is safe and private.

Please note!
Most CDs have been imported from Europe or Asia. They are not all shrink-wrapped, and I am not going to con you by wrapping them here just to make you think they have been sterilized in America. We guarantee that the CDs and the contents are all brand new and in perfect condition. Whenever I can, I use recycled shipping materials. They may not look as pretty on the outside, but they save money and keep the trash dumps a little bit emptier.
All contents of these web pages ©2000-2013 FNI Multimedia / cdRoots unless otherwise stated.
All sound files and images are the property of the artists and record labels, and are used with their express permission.
Please do not use these files without contacting the appropriate copyright holders.